Thursday, July 9, 2015

God Father of the Underground | Surprise Album from Talib Kweli | Train of Thought: Lost Lyrics, Rare Releases + Beautiful B-Sides, Volume 1

The legendary BK MC, Talib Kweli has decide to free himself for the chains of the mainstream music industry monopoly and do it old school - releasing all of his new music through his Javotti Media Records label and through his website. 

Track List and History (from the July 8 Javotti Newsletter)
"a collection of songs that have been heard before, or not, but never commercially available.'
1. Space (produced by Dave West) (3:49)
"This song, recorded in Los Angeles in 2003, is an outtake from the Beautiful Struggle sessions."
2. 2000 Seasons (prod. by Hi Tek) (4:13)
"2000 Seasons, produced by Hi Tek, this was the b-side to my first Reflection Eternal single, Fortified Live, it dropped in 1997."
3. Bright As The Stars - Black Star (prod. by Ayatollah) (4:33)
"Bright As The Stars, produced by Ayatollah. This was a Black Star song recorded for a record Yasiin and I were working on back in 2002 that we never finished."
4. Wack Niggaz feat. Common, Kanye West & Consequence (prod. by Kanye West) (3:52)
"Wack Niggaz ft Common, Kanye and Consequence, produced by Kanye West. Previously available on the Beautiful Mixtape, 2003."
5. Boomerang- featuring NIKO IS, K'Valentine & Cory Mo (prod. by Cory Mo ( 3:20)
"Boomerang ft Cory Mo, K Valentine & NIKO IS. This is the first Javotti Media posse cut, originally available on The Cathedral Mixtape, 2014. Check out the video on youtube"
6. Ocean Song feat. Mela Machinko (prod. by Rahki) (3:42)
"Ocean Song ft Mela Machinko, produced by Rahki. This song was originally recorded for Prisoner of Conscious in 2012."
7. 7:30 feat. RES (prod. by DJ Quik) (4:06)
"7:30 ft RES, produced by DJ Quik. Over a few days in 2001, I recorded several things with DJ Quik. This is our third record together that's been released from those sessions."
8. Fortfied Live feat. Yasiin Bey (fka Mos Def) & Mr. Man (prod. by Hi Tek) (4:36)
"Fortified Live ft Yasiin Bey and Mr. Man, produced by Hi Tek. Mr. Man from the Bush Babees and I went to Brooklyn Tech high school together, and Yasiin and I ended up starting a group together, but released in 1997, this was the record that began my career."
9. Tryin To Breathe feat. Killer Mike (prod. by Midi Mafia) (3:41)
"Trying To Breathe ft Killa Mike, produced by Midi Mafia. When Killa Mike first debuted as an artist, he reached out to me for a passionate talk about the state of our people. He's been a great friend and ally ever since. This song was recorded in 2003."
10. Distractions (prod. by Oh No) (3:54)
"Distractions, produced by OhNo. This is the song version of a rhyme I was working on as I visited Occupy Wall Street in 2011. Check out the video on youtube, filmed at Occupy Wall Street"

The digital version of the new album, Train of Thought: Lost Lyrics, Rare Releases + Beautiful B-Sides, Volume 1, is available for purchase at The CD and vinyl versions are promised to come a bit later.

For a little free treat, check out the Beautiful Mix CD:

Stream below and head over to Kweli Club Website for the free download.

Independent Blogging Since 2010,

No comments: